Carrying On

Okay, so I’m not really dying, but I would like my pain medication to do its job, if that’s not too much to ask. (Also, I have to use a Amy Poehler gif. every chance I get, because she’s awesome.)

While I feel like a pincushion and try yoga, stretching, a TENS unit, mediation, chopping my legs off, life carries on.

There are so many issues going on in my country (‘MURICA), some positive things and some negative. I’ve already discussed some of these issues in my last post. It’s a lot to process.

I’m enjoying my work (editing) and am looking forward to volunteering more with a local pediatric cancer nonprofit. I’m equal parts excited and terrified to start my junior year, because it means “the real world” is fast approaching.

Also, I feel like it should be said that chronic illness is a full-time job, people. Managing to exercise as much as possible, take medication, sort out how to change medication on your own, looking into new treatments, and coping with symptoms is not easy. It is a 24/7 job. It’s like having a kid who screams and yells all the time, and even when you give it what you think it wants, it throws the toy back in your face and continues screaming.

Chronic illness personified.

Things will work out. They always do. I have amazing people in my life who help me and listen. My grandma has lived with pain for years, and deals with it with grace, humor, and honesty; another relative also encourages me and lives with chronic pain. I so appreciate their empathy, and my family and friends’ kindness.

Here’s to a solution and a happy summer!

What are your best tricks when dealing with pain?

Leave a comment